Saturday, July 20, 2024

Australian Men’s Contracted Players 2024-25 |

Must read

Cricket Australia (CA) has announced a list of 23 men’s players to be offered national contracts for 2024-25. 

The MOU between Cricket Australia and the Australian Cricketer’s Association states between 20 and 24 male players are eligible to be contracted.

*NB:* Men’s Chair of National Selectors George Bailey will be available via Zoom at 12 noon (AEDT) today. Link:

Cricket Australia contracted men’s players 2024-25:

Sean Abbott (NSW/Parramatta District Cricket Club)
Xavier Bartlett (QLD/Gold Coast Cricket Club)
Scott Boland (VIC/Frankston Peninsula Cricket Club) 
Alex Carey (SA/Glenelg Cricket Club) 
Pat Cummins (NSW/Penrith Cricket Club) 
Nathan Ellis ((TAS/Lindisfarne Cricket Club)
Cameron Green (WA/Subiaco-Floreat Cricket Club) 
Aaron Hardie (WA/Willetton Cricket Club)
Josh Hazlewood (NSW/St George Cricket Club) 
Travis Head (SA/Tea Tree Gully Cricket Club) 
Josh Inglis (WA/Joondalup Cricket Club) 
Usman Khawaja (QLD/Valley District Cricket Club) 
Marnus Labuschagne (QLD/Redlands Cricket Club) 
Nathan Lyon (NSW/Northern District Cricket Club) 
Mitchell Marsh (WA/Fremantle Cricket Club) 
Glenn Maxwell (VIC/Fitzroy Doncaster Cricket Club)  
Lance Morris (WA/Scarborough Cricket Club)
Todd Murphy (VIC/St Kilda Cricket Club)
Jhye Richardson (WA/Fremantle Cricket Club)
Matt Short ((VIC/Northcote Cricket Club)
Steve Smith (NSW/Sutherland Cricket Club) 
Mitchell Starc (NSW/Manly Warringah Cricket Club) 
Adam Zampa (NSW/Sutherland Cricket Club) 

New to the contracted list are Victoria’s Matt Short (upgrade retained), Western Australia’s Aaron Hardie (upgrade retained), Tasmanian Nathan Ellis (upgrade retained) and Queensland’s Xavier Bartlett.

Short made his T20 debut against South Africa last year, playing nine T20 internationals and four ODIs. Similarly, Hardie made his Australian debut in the same game in Durban, playing seven T20s and four ODIS.

Bartlett has impressed in the KFC Big Bash and for Queensland, winning a call up to the Australian T20 and ODI sides which played the West Indies earlier this year. He starred in Melbourne with 4-17 on debut, then backed it up in Canberra with 4-21. 

Marcus Stoinis, Marcus Harris, Michael Neser and Ashton Agar were not offered full-time contracts although have the opportunity to secure an upgrade through the points system if selected. Eight contract upgrades were secured in 2023-24.

David Warner has announced his retirement from international cricket following the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Men’s Chair of National Selectors George Bailey: “Matt, Aaron and Xavier have been extremely impressive in the early stages of their international careers. Their performances and the way they have embraced the international stage has been exciting to watch.

“The panel believes they have strong futures and are deserved of their contracts as they work towards striving to become regulars in the Australian setup.”

Latest article