Mumbai Indians

The most prolific team in IPL history, Mumbai Indians will be looking to add their sixth title in 2023. 

Current team

Captain: Rohit Sharma
All rounders: Akash Madhwal, Arjun Tendulkar, Hrithik Shokeen, Shams Mulani, Cameron Green
Batsmen: Rohi Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ramandeep Singh, Nehal Wadhera, Raghav Goyal, Dewald Brevis
Bowlers: Arshad Khan, Kumar Kartikeya, Piyush Chawla, Jofra Archer, Jhye Richardson, Duan Jansen, Jason Behrendorff
Wicket Keepers Ishan Kishan, Vishnu Vinod, Tristan Stubbs
Owner: Indiawin Sports

Cricket Betting Predictions

They benefit from the leadership and big-hitting exploits of Rohit Sharma, the guile of Jasprit Bumrah and Jofra Archer with ball in hand, and Suryakumar Yadav with the willow. 

The 2022 season was one to forget for Mumbai, given that they failed to even make it to the playoffs. However, they have been installed as one of the betting favorites this time around, with the likes of Ishan Kishan and Tilak Varma – who scored 800 runs between them last term – expected to fire once more.  

CricTips’ expert rating

Thanks to their outstanding record in the IPL, aided by some smart signings in the off-season, the Mumbai Indians are one of the current favorites with the bookmakers to win the title in 2023.

They are alongside the Delhi Capitals and Rajasthan Royals as the favorites to win. Royal Challengers Bangalore, Gujarat Titans and Punjab Kings are not too far behind in the odds and are considered dangerous outsiders.

Odds for the Mumbai Indians to win the 2023 IPL: 7.0

Standout Mumbai Indians Players

Mumbai Indians Captain – Rohit Sharma

The current Mumbai Indians captain is Rohit Sharma, who also skippers the India national team, having taken over Virat Kohli’s mantle in 2022.

The 35-year-old has been the Mumbai Indians captain for each of their five IPL wins, confirming his status as one of the most inspirational leaders in the competition.

Sharma also remains one of the most destructive batsmen in all forms of cricket at the top of the batting order.

Mumbai Indians Owner – Indiawin Sports

The Mumbai Indians owner is Indiawin Sports, a subsidiary company set up by the huge conglomerate Reliance Industries – one of the most profitable firms in the country – to manage its sporting interests, which include a number of T20 franchises around the world. 

It has promoted Mahela Jayawardene and Zaheer Khan to senior management positions, and has appointed Mark Boucher as the new head coach for Mumbai.

The owner of Reliance Industries is Mukesh Ambani, who is said to have a net worth of $82bn.

Best Bowler – Jasprit Bumrah

Lasith Malinga bobbing into bowl with his curly blond locks bouncing around was one of the most iconic images in world cricket – that is, until the Sri Lankan exploded into life with his devastating ‘slingy’ action.

Malinga claimed 170 IPL wickets for the Mumbai Indians over a 10-year span until his retirement in 2019, and he will forever enjoy his place in franchise folklore.

He could be overtaken – if not this season, then next – by Jasprit Bumrah, who has 145 IPL wickets to his name. At just 29, the Indian pace bowler also has time on his side if he can remain fit and in form.

Bumrah was Mumbai’s leading wicket-taker in 2022, though he may have some competition this season from the fit-again Jofra Archer and veteran spinner Piyush Chawla.

Parimatch are offering odds of 1.87 that Jasprit Bumrah will be this year’s leading wicket-taker in the IPL!


Best Batsman – Rohit Sharma

Given that he has presided over the franchise’s era of success, it’s no surprise to learn that Sharma has scored more runs than any other batsman in Mumbai Indians history – 4,709, to be precise, at an average of 30.18.

If he has an unbelievably good 2023 season, then Kishan could overtake Tendulkar to become the fourth-best batsman in Mumbai Indians history. Kishan, Sharma, veteran Suryakumar Yadav, and exciting 20-year-old Tilak Varma will lead the way for Mumbai with the willow this campaign.

Rohit Sharma to score the most runs in the IPL 2023 – odds of 1.73 from


Best Player – Rohit Sharma 

Who is the best of the Mumbai Indians players?

This is an almost impossible question to answer, though the runs of captain Sharma and his prolonged success make him an obvious choice. The wickets of Malinga and the match-winning contributions of Pollard, Hardik Pandya and Harbhajan Singh in recent years surely put them in the conversation.  

Mumbai will have to make do without Pollard in 2023 after 13 years at the franchise. The West Indian all-rounder has decided to retire from IPL action, leaving behind a career laden with silverware – many of his best days coming in the blue shirt of the Mumbai Indians.

Of the current crop of players, there are plenty who are ready to step up to the plate. Cameron Green is officially the most expensive Australian in IPL history after Mumbai snapped him up for ₹17.5 crore at auction, and his prowess with both bat and ball should prove vitally important. 

Dewald Brevis and Tristan Stubbs are two young starlets with T20 batting averages of nearly 30, while Tim David enjoyed a batting strike rate of an eye-watering 216.27 from eight innings in 2022 – blink and you’ll miss him!

Dafabet are offering great odds of 1.93 on Rohit Sharma being named man of the match in the Indian’s opening bout against Royal Challengers


Win-Loss Record and IPL Titles

129/98/4 since 2008, with five IPL titles

The Mumbai Indians team is the most successful franchise in IPL history, with five titles and a runner-up finish to their name in just 15 years of action.

The first of those Mumbai Indians IPL wins came in 2013, when they defeated the Chennai Super Kings in the final thanks to Kieron Pollard’s fantastic knock of 60 not out.

There has been something of a symmetry to their wins since then, with Sharma lifting the IPL trophy in 2015, 2017 and 2019, before his Mumbai Indians team retained their title in 2020.

That said, the boys in blue have fallen on tougher times of late and have failed to qualify from the league phase in both 2021 and 2022. Can they halt that run this season?

Highest Score – 235/9 vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

The Mumbai Indians posted their highest-ever score against Sunrisers Hyderabad in the 2021 IPL. They amassed 235/9 from their 20 overs, with Ishan Kishan leading the way with 84 runs from just 32 balls.

Four Mumbai Indians players have made centuries in the IPL: Sharma, legendary duo Sachin Tendulkar and Sanath Jayasuriya, and West Indian Lendl Simmons. 

However, it’s Jayasuriya who holds the record for the highest individual score for Mumbai, with his incredible 114 not out against CSK back in 2008 featuring some 11 maximums.

Betting on the Mumbai Indians IPL matches might seem a confusing prospect. With lots of online sports betting operators to choose from, and a bewildering array of different things to bet on.

But, that’s exactly where CricTips can help. We only recommend overseas licensed sites that we have tested thoroughly and know that we can trust.

Latest news
Related news